Spring 2012 Pre-College Research Symposium

On Saturday, May 12, 2012, the Spring 2012 Pre-College Research Symposium was held at the Sheraton Puerto Rico Convention Center, San Juan, Puerto Rico. The symposium was made possible as a result of two grants of the National Science Foundation, the AGMUS Institute of Mathematics and the Caribbean Computing Center for Excellence, for both of which I am the PI. The conference was attended by 277 high school students from Puerto Rico, 228 parents and family members, 95 science and math teachers, 42 research mentors and assistants, 49 scientific judges, 48 visitors and 15 administrators for a total of 754 participants.

The conference is part of the final outcome of the AGMUS Institute of Mathematics and the Caribbean Computing Center for Excellence (CCCE) Alliance Saturday Academy for the Spring 2012, where pre-college students from high schools in Arecibo, Barranquitas, Bayamón, Caguas, Camuy, Carolina, Cayey, Cidra, Corozal, Fajardo, Guaynabo, Gurabo, Hatillo, Humacao, Luquillo, Manatí, Mayaguez, Naranjito, Ponce, Sabana Grande, Saint Croix, Saint Thomas, San Germán, San Juan, San Lorenzo, Toa Baja, Trujillo Alto, and from grades 10, 11 and 12 were mentored by undergraduates and faculty in research projects in the areas of astronomy, biology, genomics, bio-mathematics, bio-statistics, computational chemistry, engineering, environmental sciences, atmospheric sciences, nanotechnology and robotics during sixteen weeks at the research facilities of Universidad del Este, Universidad Metropolitana, Universidad del Turabo, Polytechnic University, Inter-American University-San Germán, Barranquitas and Metro, the University of Puerto Rico-Mayagüez-Humacao, Cayey, the University of the Virgin Islands, the Arecibo Observatory, María Reina Academy, Manuel Mediavilla Negrón School, and José Aponte de la Torre School. One-hundred seventy-six posters were exhibited together with thirty-nine oral research presentations. At the awards ceremony eighteen posters were selected as the best of the conference.